News / Brèves
Back to previous selection / Retour à la sélection précédente

Urgent: Stop the Danger of Nuclear War!

Printable version / Version imprimable

Mexico City, November 16, 2022

Dear colleagues from around the world:

A group of current and former legislators from Mexico and other countries of Latin America and the Caribbean held two international seminars in the month of October on the subject, “Stop the Danger of Nuclear War.”

At these meetings, political and social leaders with different ideological outlooks agreed that the current crisis around Ukraine, “can lead to a confrontation with nuclear weapons between Russia and the United States and NATO,” and that it is urgent to reestablish the universal concept that a, “nuclear war cannot be won and must never be fought,” as was stated most recently by the five permanent members of the United Nations Security Council in January of this year.

We call on you, current and former legislators of the world, to join this effort that we have launched, in order to urge all world citizens to also unite to create a new international security and development architecture, which respects the security interests of all nations and which guarantees the right to welfare and economic development of all people on the planet. As Congressman Robles Montoya stated in the seminar we held on October 27, “I would like to submit for your consideration the formation of a group of legislators who represent everyone on all continents, if possible of all nationalities, to go dialogue directly with the governments of every country interested in world peace.”

We will hold a third international seminar on November 22, whose purpose is to continue the process of deliberation and search for peaceful solutions, including a thorough examination of the alternative economic policies to replace speculation, which has generated so much poverty and suffering, with a system of production and progress to meet the needs of a growing world population.

As we state in our Declaration, “The common good of the One Humanity is the obligatory premise for the good of each and every nation.”

With fraternal greetings,

Benjamín Robles Montoya
Federal Congressman
Congress of the Union of Mexico

María de los Ángeles Huerta del Río
Former Federal Congresswoman
Congress of the Union of Mexico

PDF with Signatures (English) Download
PDF with Signatures (Spanish) Download


Donald Ramotar (Guyana); former President (2011-2015), former member of parliament (1992-2011, PPP)

Helga Zepp-LaRouche (Germany); founder, Schiller Institute

Jorge Robledo (Colombia); former Senator (2002-2022, Partido Dignidad)

María de los Ángeles Huerta (Mexico); former Congresswoman (2018-2021, Morena)

Dr. Kirk Meighoo (Trinidad & Tobago); former independent Senator (2004, United National Congress)

Dr. Rodolfo Ondarza (Mexico); former Representative, Mexico City Legislative Assembly (2015-2018, PT)

Diane Sare (U.S.); candidate for the U.S. Senate from New York (2022, independent/LaRouche)



Gen. Edwin de la Fuente Jeria; former Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces of Bolivia (2012-2013)


Paula Cannabrava Filho; journalist, Editor of Diálogos do Sul


Jennifer Pedraza Sandoval; Congresswoman

Luís Eduardo Peláez; state representative, Antioquia

Leónidas Gómez Gómez; state representative, Santander

Jorge Gómez Gallego; former Congressman

Diógenes Orjuela García; former Secretary General, CUT trade union confederation

Manuel Sarmiento Arguello; city councilman, Bogotá

Czech Republic

Vincenzo Romanello (Czech Republic/Italy); Ph.D., Senior Nuclear Researcher and Project Manager, National Radiation Protection Institute (SURO)

Dominican Republic

Ramón Emilio Concepción; former presidential precandidate (2020)


Sergio Tancredi; former member of the Sicilian Parliament (2017-2022)

Antonio Ingroia; former anti-mafia judge in Sicily; candidate for Prime Minister (2013)

Alessia Ruggeri; trade unionist, Comitato per la Repubblica


Benjamín Robles Montoya; Congressman (2018- ); former Senator (2012-2018)

Elpidio Tovar de la Cruz; former Congressman (2003-2006)

Claudia Yáñez Centeno; former Congresswoman (2014-2017)

Alberto Vizcarra Osuna; former Sonora state representative (1988-1991)

Dr. Sergio Pablo Mariscal Alvarado; former Mayor, Ciudad Obregón (2018-2021); engineering professor, Sonora Technological Institute

Emeterio Ochoa Bazúa; former Sonora state representative (2015-2021)

Antonio Valdez Villanueva; former Sonora state representative (2009-2012); Under- secretary General of the Mexican Labor Confederation (CTM) in Sonora.


Dr. A. J. (Guus) Berkhout; Professor-Emeritus Geophysics, Technical Univ. of Delft; President of CLINTEL


Juan Pari; former congressman (2011- 2016)

Alberto Quintanilla Chacón; former congresmman (2016-2019)

Roberto Vela Pinedo; President, Association of Economists of Peru

United States

Richard Black; former Virginia state Senator (2012-2020), former member Virginia House of Delegates (1998-2006)

Graham Fuller; former U.S. diplomat, CIA official, and Islamic scholar

Dr. George Koo; International business advisor, retired

Dr. Mohammad A. Toor; Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Pakistani American Congress

Bradley Blankenship; Journalist

Bob Van Hee; Commissioner, Redwood County, Minnesota


Román Rojas Cabot; former Venezuelan ambassador to the European Community, Brussels

Emil Guevara Muñoz; former member of the Latin American Parliament (2006-2011)


Dr. Fouad al Ghaffari; Advisor to the Prime Minister for BRICS Countries Affairs; President of Yemeni ALBRICS Youth Parliament
AddThis Sharing Buttons
Share to WeChat